Hey Escapism; no means no.

I get scattered so easily without even trying. I think it’s to the point where I can actually call it a talent because I do it with such flair. Last night, I found myself reading information about work at home opportunities where you put together crafts (I did it for hours without realizing it and cursed the activity when I finally came out of my hyperfocus and crawled into bed). You put them together and send them in, and they pay you about a dollar per each one you do. While it sounded like great way for me to work with my hands AND enjoy the rhythm of blessed repetition (a wandering mind is a relaxed mind), it wasn’t a good way to support my family. From what I understand, you end up spending a great deal of time redoing crafts before you get paid. It wouldn’t be a good use of my time, even though it sounds really tempting.

Sometimes I have to wrap my brain around the fact that now that I have a degree, I have the ability to set my goals higher and make more money. This doesn’t include little at-home, possibly-scam jobs (even if the idea of painting and gluing a hundred little birdhouses sounds relaxing).  I’d be better off laying some tile around my kitchen.

I’ve decided that since I want to keep doing this working at home thing, I needed to figure out the best way to go about it. I happened up on a few video tutorials that gave some great ideas about how to manage your time and avoid distractions in a home office. Most of the tips I’ve read online seem pretty obvious and don’t really apply to me since I feel that my ADD needs are rather specific. This video below of Julie Morgenstern is much more applicable. It’s inspired me to buy a planner and give some of their ideas a shot. Once the planner comes, I’ll be able to create a better schedule for myself.

Here’s the video. Good stuff. You can also check out more videos of hers here (these are shorter and easier to digest). http://www.usa.canon.com/app/html/HomeOffice/index.html Just click tutorials.

.

.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

